Posts tagged "Delayed Synonyms of Trauma"

How Does Washington State Define Sexual Misconduct with a Minor?

Sexual Misconduct with a Minor – How It Is Defined In Washington State

January 27th, 2020 Posted by Abuse, Personal Injury, Sexual Abuse 0 comments on “Sexual Misconduct with a Minor – How It Is Defined In Washington State”

How Does Washington State Define Sexual Misconduct with a Minor?

Pursuant to Chapter 9A.44 RCW, Sexual Misconduct with a Minor in the First Degree involves any form of sexual intercourse (penetration), and in the Second Degree involves any form of sexual contact with an individual older than 16, but less than 18, unless the intercourse or contact is committed upon a person less than 21 by a person who holds a supervisory position over the victim, including by a teacher, foster parent, etc.

What is the Sentencing Range in Washington State for Commission of Sexual Misconduct with a Minor?

Washington’s penal code punishes Sexual Misconduct with a Minor in the First Degree as a Class C Felony and in the Second Degree as a Gross Misdemeanor. Pursuant to RCW 9A.20.021, a Class C Felony is punishable by up to life in prison, a fine of up to $50,000, or both, while a Gross Misdemeanor is punishable by up to 364 days in jail, a fine of up to $5,000, or both. Sex offender registration is also required for committing either crime.

May the Victim Sue the Offender for Commission of Sexual Misconduct with a Minor?

Yes, victims of Sexual Misconduct with a Minor in WashingtonState have a civil cause of action against their perpetrator, as well as against anyone who negligently facilitated the commission of that crime, including state social services agencies (such as with foster child placement), religious institutions, schools, youth groups and social organization and activities providers (such as a “scouts” or “explorers” group).

 

 

What is the Civil Statute of Limitations that Applies to Sexual Misconduct with a Minor?

Pursuant to RCW 4.16.340, children and adults may sue their perpetrators for any form of child sexual abuse in Washington State until the later of three years after the act; three years after discovering that an injury (including a mental health condition) was caused by the act; or three years of discovering the act for which a claim of injury/distress is asserted. In practice, very few sexual abuse cases are subject to defeat based on a statute of limitations defense.

Is it Considered Sexual Misconduct with a Minor in Washington State if the Victim is Under 16?

No, Chapter 9A.44 RCW defines various other forms of sexual abuse of minors, including child molestation in three degrees; rape of a child in three degrees; and taking indecent liberties with a child. Any of these child sexual abuse offenses may be prosecuted both under criminal codes and civil statutes in Washington State.

What Should I do If I AM or WAS the Victim of Child Sexual Abuse?

You should immediately report any form of child sexual abuse. You can report this to the police; to a teacher; to a doctor or other healthcare provider such as a Physician’s Assistant, Advanced Registered Nurse Provider, other nurses or mental health counselor; or to a lawyer familiar with these types of circumstances. All of these individuals are trained and responsible to assist victims of child sexual abuse, who never need to suffer in silence.

Can Washington Law Center Help Me if I AM or WAS a Child Sex Abuse Victim?

Yes. At Washington Law Center, our sensitive and compassionate attorneys have assisted numerous child sex abuse victims to recover million dollar + recoveries for their damages. It is never the child’s fault. A child cannot give consent to improper contact or intercourse. Every child that has been or is the victim of child sex abuse in Washington should consult with our attorneys as soon as they can, including because it is always safest and easiest for our attorneys to navigate statute of limitations defenses the earlier we learn the facts of your case. You are not alone.

The Content Provided Herein is the Consensus View of Experienced Sex Abuse Attorneys in Washington State.

Statute of Limitations for Childhood Sexual Abuse in Washington - Washington Law Center

What is the Statute of Limitations for Childhood Sexual Abuse in Washington?

January 6th, 2020 Posted by Abuse, Personal Injury, Sexual Abuse 0 comments on “What is the Statute of Limitations for Childhood Sexual Abuse in Washington?”

The statute of limitations for childhood sexual abuse in Washington is much broader than one would expect. The Washington legislature in RCW 4.16.340 increased the time for a victim to bring a cause of action. Legal action by the victim in a childhood sexual abuse case is to be executed “within three years of the time that the act caused the injury for which the claim is brought.” So, you could be victimized as a child and not experience a traumatic response for many years. This essentially means that there is no definable time limitation when it comes to childhood sexual abuse cases. Often times, it takes a forensic evaluation from a psychologist to determine whether a victim is aware of the harm that was caused by early childhood trauma from sexual abuse. 

Delayed Synonyms of Trauma in Childhood Sexual Abuse in Washington

Washington Courts have consistently ruled in favor of victims and against those that have committed childhood sexual abuse or were in a position to stop the abuse. The Supreme Court has noted that the Legislature’s purpose in enacting RCW 4.16.340 was to provide a broad avenue of redress for victims of childhood sexual abuse. C.J.C. v. Corporation of the Catholic Bishop of Yakima, 138 Wn.2d 699, 712-13, 985 P.2d 262 (1999). “The three year statute of limitations on a claim arising from an act of childhood abuse does not begin to run at least until the victim discovers ‘that the act caused the injury for which the claim is brought.’” Miller v. Campbell, 137 Wn. App. 762, 767, 155 P.3d 154 (2007) (citing RCW 4.16.340(1)(c)). “Legislative findings supporting this statutory discovery rule state the Legislature’s intent ‘that the earlier discovery of less serious injuries should not affect the statute of limitations for injuries that are discovered later.’” Id. “The special statute of limitations, RCW 4.16.340, indicates that it is not inconsistent for a victim to be aware for many years that he has been abused, yet not have knowledge of the potential tort claim against his abuser.” Id. at 773. “Indeed, as our Legislature has found, childhood sexual abuse, by its very nature, may render the victim unable to understand or make the connection between the childhood abuse and the full extent of the resulting emotional harm until many years later.” Cloud v. Summers, 98 Wn. App. 724, 735, 991 P.2d 1169 (1999).  

Statute of Limitations for Childhood Sexual Abuse in Washington

More recently, the Court of Appeals in Washington has stated that the special statute of limitations that tolls civil claims based on intentional childhood sexual abuse is unique in that it does not begin running when a victim discovers an injury. Instead, it specifically focuses on when a victim of sexual abuse discovers a causal link between abuse and injury for which the suit is brought. The legislature specifically anticipated that victims may know they are suffering emotional harm or damage but not be able to understand the connection between those symptoms and the abuse. B.R. v. Horsley, 186 Wash.App. 294 (2015).

Recovering for Childhood Sexual Abuse Decades Later

Most victims of childhood sexual abuse are well aware that they were abused as children but have not connected all of their physical and emotional injuries to the perpetuated acts. Victims of childhood sexual abuse often do not realize how their work, family, intimacy and personal life have been impacted. Individuals who have been abused as children have known difficulties with addiction and the inability to have sustaining relationships into adulthood. The Washington legislature has recognized these harms and allow victims to recover even decades later. 

What Steps Can You Take?

Do not let the fear of the statute of limitations with regard to childhood sexual abuse prevent you from contacting an attorney to discuss your case. If you were sexually abused in Washington or by a resident of Washington, you very likely have a legitimate claim that entitles you to compensation. Contact the experienced attorneys of Washington Law Center today.

We have helped people who have been impacted by sexual abuse and sexual assault at every stage of life. Our legal team feels strongly that people who have been wronged in this manner should be given all the assistance they need to have a healthy life moving forward.

Over $100 million awarded to our clients by verdict, settlement, injury pension or judgment

Washington Injury Lawyer Awards Footer